Awards Ceremony for the XVIII Tumi USA Award — 2013

Awards Ceremony for the XVIII Tumi USA Award — 2013


MIAMI BEACH, Fla., Aug. 21, 2013 /PRNewswire-HISPANIC PR WIRE/ — The awards ceremony for the XVIII Tumi USA Award-2013 will be held on Saturday, September 21st at 7:00 p.m. These awards are considered the “Hall of Fame of the Peruvian Community” within the United States. The ceremony will be held at the Colony Theater, located at 1040 Lincoln Road, in Miami Beach, Florida, 33139.

The XVIII Tumi USA Award-2013 ceremony will honor 33 winners with the Award of Excellence, 26 of whom are from Peru and 7 from Latin America.

The award winners will receive this honor of recognition, gratitude and admiration for excelling as professionals, as well as students, and for exemplifying their merit, estimable trajectory and contribution toward society’s collective development and welfare. This recognition is not only acknowledged in the cities in the U.S. where the prize winners are from, but also in Peru, for addressing domestic needs.

“Our goal is to motivate others with the example of our fellow citizens,” said Jose Luis Valderrama, President of the Tumi USA Award, when recalling that as many as 261 Peruvian and Peruvian-Americans have been recognized during the award’s 18 years of institutional existence.

Renowned and creative gastronome, Gaston Acurio, emblematic singer-songwriter, Gian Marco Zignago, and talented economist and former Prime Minister of Peru, Pedro Pablo Kuczynski, are among those who will walk down the red carpet.

Honorees from 12 states in the U.S. are being awarded: California: Dr. Federico Alva, Victor Escobar Zevallos, and student Edith April Espejo; Connecticut: Marleny Mesta Delgado; Florida: Juan Kurila and Dora Hale; Georgia: Gilda Pedraza; Illinois: Dr. Ruben Chuquimia and Luis Galvez Alcantara; Maryland: Margarita Lucy Ruiz; Michigan: Rocio Quispe-Agnoli; Nevada: Giordano Carreno Sanguinetti; New Jersey: Ricardo A. Quispe-Ore; New York: Daniel Gamba; Utah: Giovanna Palacios Spiess; Washington DC/Virginia: Mael Escudero.

The dynamic winners of the up-and-coming New Generation Award will also be honored. They are: Brady Vasquez, Eduardo de las Casas, Evelyn Brooks, Frank & Cristian Encalada, and Paolo Casabone. Representing the field of Cultural Affairs, Pedro Pablo Pena will also be recognized.

Honorees from the Latin American community are: Argentina: Claudio Gonzalez; Chile: LAN/Ciro Correa; Colombia: Marcello Serrato; Cuba: Frank Bolanos; Ecuador: Mary Kahil Correa; Mexico: Raymundo Varela; and Venezuela: Peter Tinoco.

“Our commitment,” said Chairwoman, Gloria Rosebrough,”is to contribute to the recognition of entrepreneurs who build a prosperous and democratic America demonstrating our cultural contribution and strength, and the influence of Latin American immigrants.”

Tickets on sale at:

SOURCE XVIII Tumi USA Award-2013

Awards Ceremony for the XVIII Tumi USA Award — 2013