Under ‘Unity’ Theme, the 2007 Hispanic Heritage Awards Bring Latino Cultures Together...

Under ‘Unity’ Theme, the 2007 Hispanic Heritage Awards Bring Latino Cultures Together in Honor of Hispanic Leadership and Accomplishment

Honorees announced; Judy Reyes of NBC’s Scrubs to host star-studded event on October 11


Washington, DC–(HISPANIC PR WIRE)–September 13, 2007–The Hispanic Heritage Foundation (HHF) today announced the 2007 Hispanic Heritage Awards recipients, who will be celebrated at the recently-renovated Renaissance Marriott Hotel in Washington, D.C. on Thursday, October 11, 2007. Hosted by Judy Reyes, star of NBC’s Scrubs, the Awards will honor groups and individuals for their leadership, pride, and impact made in their respective fields. A star-studded roster of diverse celebrity presenters and entertainers will complete the festive and emotional program (please click http://www.HHAceremony.com for a short video introduction).

“This year’s program is about bringing the Hispanic community together – with all of our similarities and differences – sharing our talents, our dreams, and our cultures,” said Dr. Pedro Jose (Joe) Greer, Jr., HHF Chairman of the Board. “We are thrilled to ‘unite’ the honorees, presenters and performers, our committed sponsors, and dedicated community leaders for a very special evening celebrating our diversity and solidarity.”

The following is a list of the 2007 Hispanic Heritage Awards Honorees in five categories:

— Rosario Dawson for Vision – an ethnic mix of Puerto Rican/Dominican/African American/Cuban/Irish, Rosario Dawson, who is best known for her roles in Sin City, Kids, and Rent, is being honored for her tireless work as co-founder and executive director of VotoLatino, an organization that leads the effort to increase voter registration among young Hispanics.

— Dr. Inés Cifuentes for Math and Science – Named the 2006 National Hispanic Scientist of the Year, she was the first female graduate of the Columbia University doctorate program in Seismology. Dr. Cifuentes has been recognized for improving science programs in public schools and assisting Central American Refugees in the Washington, DC area. She currently works at the American Geophysical Union.

— U.S. Reps. Ileana Ros-Lehtinen (R-FL) and Xavier Becerra (D-CA) for Education – These two congressional members will be recognized for their leadership in pushing a bill to establish the American Latino Museum through Congress in an effort to educate Americans about the rich Hispanic culture and contributions to America.

— Cast of Love in the Time of Cholera for the Arts – For the first time, the award will honor a work of art rather than an individual. Accepting the award will be the producer, director and cast of the movie, which brings the Gabriel Garcia Marquez novel to life. Honorees include: Producer Scott Steindorff, Director Mike Newell and Actors Benjamin Bratt, John Leguizamo, Hector Elizondo, Oscar-nominee Catalina Sandino Moreno, and Laura Harring.

— Tony Pérez, for Sports – Born in Cuba, Tony Perez was a seven-time All-Star as a first baseman for the Cincinnati Reds. After retirement, he helped lead the Florida Marlins win the World Series in 1997 as a member of its coaching staff. Today, he is still with the Marlins and has been inducted into the Major League Baseball Hall of Fame.

Confirmed presenters include (in alphabetical order): Academy Award nominee Adriana Barazza (Babel); Shelbie Bruce (Spanglish); Former Miss USA and Neutrogena spokesperson Susie Castillo (Underdog); Kate Del Castillo (La Misma Luna); Broadway performer Mandy Gonzalez (Aida, Lennon); Actor Nicholas Gonzalez (El Camino del Diablo, Resurrection Blvd.); Academy Award winner Rita Moreno (West Side Story, CANE), Edgar Ramirez (The Bourne Ultimatum), Actor Wilmer Valderrama (That 70’s Show, Handy Manny), and more. The evening’s dynamic performances will include: Los Amigos Invisibles, Fanny Lu, and a special performance as the grand finale which will be announced later. Past Hispanic Heritage Youth Award Recipient for the Arts Jairo Alvarado will direct the 2007 Hispanic Heritage Awards which will be broadcast for the first time via broadband and through Sprint Nextel’s Power View on October 26, 2007.

In recognition of the Arts Honorees, the Hispanic Heritage Awards celebration will be launched on Wednesday, October 10 with a special pre-release screening of Love in the Time of Cholera. The screening will include a star-studded red-carpet event at Washington, D.C.’s Uptown Theater presented by Stone Village Pictures, New Line Cinema and the Hispanic Heritage Foundation. This is the first public screening in the United States, and will be introduced by director Mike Newell and HHF President and CEO Jose Antonio Tijerino.

The Hispanic Heritage Awards are sponsored by a host of dedicated supporters including: Medallion sponsors, AstraZeneca, Dentyne, ExxonMobil, and Sallie Mae (Official Student Loan Partner); Official Insurance Company Allianz Life; Official Hispanic Heritage Awards Airline American Airlines; and Official Car Volvo. NBC Universal and Telemundo are Gold Sponsor and additionally the program is supported by People en Espanol, the U.S. Navy, Southwest Airlines, Goldman Sachs, New Line Cinema, Renaissance Hotel Washington, DC, Sprint/Nextel, Stone Village Pictures, HSBC, Lockheed Martin, Pfizer, ALMA Magazine, Catalina Magazine, Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education, Latino Leaders Magazine, Fannie Mae, Home Builders Institute, Home Depot, Pulte Homes, and Staples Foundation for Learning. To join the prestigious list of sponsors and participate in the 2007 Hispanic Heritage Awards, please call 202.861.9797 or e-mail Scott@HispanicHeritage.org.

Eight National Hispanic Heritage Youth Award recipients also will be recognized on stage for their accomplishments in the classroom and community. These students were selected as high school seniors in the spring from a pool of 13,000 applicants from across the country. They include: Nicolas Frank Altemose of Temecula, California for Academic Excellence; Fabian Alejandro Poliak of Apopka, Florida for Business; Natassia Rodriguez of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania for Community Service; Haydee Cruz of Phoenix, Arizona for Education; Keone David Hon of Kailua Kona, Hawaii for Engineering and Mathematics; Daniel Lage of Coral Gables, Florida for Healthcare; Christopher Stephan Oroza of Coppell, Texas for Journalism; and Ilona Catalina Juan of Homestead, Florida for Sports. In addition to the students, one teacher, Dora Arredondo-Maron of Los Gatos, California will be recognized with the National Hispanic Heritage Teacher Award, presented by Staples Foundation for Learning. This is the first ever award of its kind – recognizing a teacher her impact on Hispanic students.

The Youth Awards are sponsored by Chase and MasterCard International, National Society of Hispanic MBAs (NSHMBA), Cadbury Schweppes Americas Beverages, Southwest Airlines (Official Airline of the Youth Awards), ExxonMobil, GlaxoSmithKline, NBC Universal and Telemundo, SUBWAY Restaurants, Allianz Life and HP (Official Computer Partner of the Youth Awards).

The Hispanic Heritage Foundation, a 501c3 nonprofit organization which identifies, inspires, promotes and prepares Latino leaders through national leadership, educational, and workforce programs. The Hispanic Heritage Awards, which began as a small White House ceremony commemorating the creation of Hispanic Heritage Month, has become the most recognizable and celebrated Hispanic honor and event in America, and serves as a culmination of the Foundation’s year-round programs. For more information please visit http://www.HispanicHeritage.org.

Under ‘Unity’ Theme, the 2007 Hispanic Heritage Awards Bring Latino Cultures Together in Honor of Hispanic Leadership and Accomplishment