Mexico’s Diario FOX Sports Prepares For Its U.S. Launch This Sunday On...

Mexico’s Diario FOX Sports Prepares For Its U.S. Launch This Sunday On FOX Sports En Español

Hour-Long Newscast Comes to the Nation’s Premier Spanish-language Sports Network


SHARE THIS ARTICLE

Los Angeles, CA–(HISPANIC PR WIRE – BUSINESS WIRE)–January 29, 2004–Diario Fox Sports, a new, live prime-time sports news program originating from Fox Sports en Español’s studios in Mexico, will make its U.S. debut this Sunday, February 1, 2004 at 8:00 p.m. (PT)/11:00 p.m. (ET), following the opening game of the 2004 Caribbean World Series. The newscast will air six days a week including Sundays at 8:00 p.m. (PT)/11:00 p.m. (ET), and also from Monday to Friday at 10:00 p.m. (PT)/1:00 a.m. (ET).

Experienced sports journalists Javier Vargas and Victor González will anchor the U.S. edition of Diario Fox Sports and will be joined by soccer analyst and former Mexican league coach Waldemar Madama, with additional commentary from Elmur Sousa . The new show will feature in-depth sports news from Mexico and around the globe, including highlights of Latin American and European soccer, boxing, tennis and the NFL, all tailored to the interests of U.S .Hispanic sports fans. Diario Fox Sports first launched in Mexico in March 2003 and has become a ratings success on the Fox Sports network in Latin America.

“We’re pleased to adapt one of our signature productions in Mexico for our U.S. Hispanic television audience, and at the same time expand the breadth of our round-the-clock sports news on the channel, “said David Sternberg, General Manager of Fox Sports en Español. “Diario Fox Sports will keep our viewers comprehensively informed on the sports news that matters most to them.”

The addition of Diario Fox Sports will double Fox Sports en Español’s sports news programming content to 11 hours weekly. The channel’s current nightly newscast from Argentina, Fox Sports Noticias, will continue in its nightly 7:00 p.m. (PT)/ 10:00 p.m. (ET) time slot.

Fox Sports en Español is available through affiliated cable systems and through DIRECTV and Dish Network satellite providers. Fox Sports en Español is distributed by Fox Cable Networks Group and operated by Fox Pan American Sports LLC, an international sports programming and production entity jointly owned by Hicks, Muse, Tate & Furst; Fox Entertainment Group (NYSE: FOX) and News Corporation’s (NYSE: NWS) Fox Sports International; and Liberty Media Corporation.

–30–

CONTACT:

Fox Sports en Español

Veronica Alvarez

310-286-6329

Mexico’s Diario FOX Sports Prepares For Its U.S. Launch This Sunday On FOX Sports En Español