eBeisbol.com(TM) announces the MVP of the Serie del Caribe 2007

eBeisbol.com(TM) announces the MVP of the Serie del Caribe 2007

The membership of eBeisbol.com, the 'Alianza de Béisbol Latina' have elected the most outstanding player of the championship tournament


Untitled Document

Carolina, PR–(HISPANIC
PR WIRE)–February 9, 2007–The Serie del Caribe ended this Wednesday with a
dramatic 1-0 victory in 10 innings by the Gigantes of Carolina, Puerto Rico
over the champions of the tournament, the Águilas of Cibaeñas
in the República Dominicana.

This tournament started
out with a marathon encounter between Dominicana and Venezuela, instantly marking
this event as a classic in the history of Latin American baseball.

It had everything, from
big bats, electric plays and individual performances that shaped this contest’s
place in history.

This year, eBeisbol.com,
the home of the “Alianza de Béisbol Latina” and the official
website of the Serie del Caribe, offered members the opportunity to elect the
player who they thought delivered the best performance of the twelve games of
the tournament.

Our members elected the
Dominican team member, Tony Batista, as the Most Valuable Player for his outstanding
performance that determined the five victories of the Águilas of Cibaeñas.

Batista, with only a batting
average of .228, was a leader in homeruns with 3 and second in RBI’s with
8 and Runs with 5.  Second place in the votes was Puerto Rican Armandeo
Ríos, who finished as the leading batter with a batting average of .545
and 12 hits.   Third in votes was the Dominican, Anderson Hernández
with .310 batting average, 10 hits and 6 runs.

Honorable mention goes to
Miguel Tejada (Dominicana), Óscar Salazar (Venezuela), Luis Polonia (Dominicana),
Alberto Castillo (Dominicana), and José Lima (Dominicana), who won the
next places.

Going forward, eBeisbol.com,
the site for Latin baseball fans and players, will follow the performance of
these players and more of our Hispanic players in the coming season of the Major

Serie del Caribe MVP Voting
Results – eBeisbol.com(TM)

Ranking    Player
Team             MLB
Organization         Level

Tony Batista         Rep. Dominicana 
Minnesota Twins          MLB

Armando Rios         Puerto Rico     
NA                       NA

Anderson Hernandez   Rep. Dominicana  NY Mets                  AAA

Miguel Tejada        Rep.Dominicana 
 Baltimore Orioles        MLB

Óscar Salazar        Venezuela        NA

Luis Polonia         Rep. Dominicana 
NA                       NA

Alberto Castillo     Rep. Dominicana  Washington Nationals

Jose Lima            Rep.
Dominicana  Mets                     AAA

eBeisbol.com(TM) announces the MVP of the Serie del Caribe 2007