Acura Delivers Advanced Safety Performance As Both Acura MDX and RLX Earn...

Acura Delivers Advanced Safety Performance As Both Acura MDX and RLX Earn Top-Level IIHS Crash Scores

2014 Acura MDX and RLX achieve TOP SAFETY PICK+ ratings, while 2014 Acura TL earns TOP SAFETY PICK status


TORRANCE, Calif., Dec. 19, 2013 /PRNewswire-HISPANIC PR WIRE/ — The all-new 2014 Acura MDX
and 2014 RLX, have earned the highest-available collision safety rating of TOP
SAFETY PICK+ from the Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS), while the 2014 TL
performance luxury sedan achieved a TOP SAFETY PICK rating.

(Photo: )

(Logo: )

These accomplishments come on top of the 2014 MDX and 2014 RDX having
recently received a top 5Star Overall Vehicle Score from the National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). In addition, each received
5-Stars on each of the frontal and side impact crash tests, and each scored
4-Stars for rollover resistance in the NHTSA’s New Car Assessment Program

Significantly, both the MDX and RLX achieved the TOP SAFETY PICK+ rating
while also improving fuel efficiency to class-leading levels. While employing
Acura’s next-generation Advanced Compatibility Engineering™ (ACE™) body
structure, the RLX and MDX reduce the overall mass of each vehicle by 275

“Through the ingenuity and commitment of our engineers, we are demonstrating
that safety performance and fuel efficiency don’t have to be competing values,”
said Jim Keller, vice president of Honda R&D Americas, and the chief
engineer who led the development of MDX. “We are very proud of the performance
of MDX in all of the consumer collision safety rating tests.”

Acura products have class-leading levels of collision performance, as
reflected in the top-level safety ratings from the IIHS and NHTSA. To achieve an
IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK rating, vehicles must receive GOOD ratings in Moderate
Overlap Fontal, Side, Rollover and Rear tests and GOOD or ACCEPTABLE in the
Small Overlap Front test. TOP SAFETY PICK+ vehicles must achieve these same
results along with providing forward collision warning and/or braking systems.

Acura MDX and RLX offer a rich array of safety and driver-assistive
technologies, including the next generation ACE body structure, and
the available Collision Mitigation Braking, Forward Collision Warning, Blind
Spot Information, Lane Departure Warning, and Lane Keeping Assist systems.

Key safety and drivers assistive technologies and features of the 2014 Acura
MDX and 2014 RLX include:

  • Available Lane Departure Warning (LDW)
  • Available Forward Collision Warning (FCW)
  • Available Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS)
  • Next-generation Advanced Compatibility Engineering
    (ACE) body structure
  • Available Blind Spot Information (BSI)
  • Available Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS)
  • Available Adaptive Cruise Control with Low-Speed Follow
  • Pre-tensioning driver and front passenger seatbelts
  • Driver’s knee airbag
  • Multi-View Rear Camera


About Acura
Acura offers a full line of technologically advanced
performance luxury vehicles through a network of 275 dealers within the United
States. The Acura lineup features six distinctive models including the RLX luxury flagship
sedan, the TL performance luxury sedan, the TSX Sport Wagon
and sedan, the ILX compact luxury sedan, the RDX
luxury crossover SUV, and the all-new MDX
luxury sport utility vehicle.

Connect With Acura:
Consumer information about Acura is available

To join the Acura community on Facebook, visit

More information abound IIHS can be found at

More information about NHTSA and NCAP is available at


Acura Delivers Advanced Safety Performance As Both Acura MDX and RLX Earn Top-Level IIHS Crash Scores