Alfaguara Novel Prize Celebrates Its XV Edition- Author Rosa Montero Will Be...

Alfaguara Novel Prize Celebrates Its XV Edition- Author Rosa Montero Will Be President of the Jury

Award entry rules are available at


MIAMI, Sept. 27, 2011 /PRNewswire-HISPANIC PR WIRE/ — Since its inception, the Alfaguara Novel Prize has become a referent for quality literary awards bestowed upon unpublished works written in Spanish. Its influential position within the field of Spanish language has fostered first rate international coverage, backed by the simultaneous publication of winning works in Spain, Latin America, and the US. This coming year, the Alfaguara Novel Prize will celebrate its XV Edition.

In addition, Alfaguara Prize-Winning Novels have, time after time, earned top international reviews as well as other awards, which serve to confirm the literary quality of the recognized works. El viajero del siglo by Andres Neuman, winner of the 2009 edition, was feted in Spain the following year receiving the Premio a la Critica Literaria. Another example would be the 2006 edition winner, Abril Rojo, by Santiago Roncagliolo, which this year earned the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize, one of the most prestigious British awards for translated fictional works in the United Kingdom.

An award that has overcome language barriers

The success of the Alfaguara Novel Prize during these last fifteen years has transcended the frontiers of the Spanish language, as attested by the numerous translations to various languages. El ruido de las cosas al caer by Juan Gabriel Vasques, recipient the 2011 edition, has been bought by publishers of the stature of Seuli in France and Ponte all Grazie in Italy. El arte de la resurreccion by Hernan Rivera Letelier has been purchased by more than ten international publishers, among them, Italian publisher Mondadori and Dutch Signatuur. El viajero del siglo by Andres Neuman is one of the examples that boasts the highest number of translations, and it will be issued by venerable US publishing house Farrar, Straus & Giroux.

Rosa Montero, president of the jury

The Alfaguara Novel Prize is determined by an exceptional panel of judges, composed of writers and prominent figures within the cultural sphere. This year, for its XV edition, celebrated author Rosa Montero will preside over the jury, whose members will not be made public until the ruling of the award. Other renowned figures that have presided over the jury since the first edition of the Prize in 1998 are: Carlos Fuentes, Eduardo Mendoza, Alfredo Bryce Echenique, Antonio Munoz Molina, Jorge Semprun, Luis Mateo Diez, Jose Saramago, Jose Manuel Caballero Bonald, Angeles Mastretta, Mario Vargas Llosa, Sergio Ramirez, Luis Goytisolo, Manuel Vicent, and Bernardo Atxaga.

Rosa Montero was born in Madrid. During her studies in Journalism and Psychology she collaborated with independent theatrical groups such as Tabano and Canon. Her work has been published in various mass media outlets and since 1976 she has worked exclusively for El Pais. In 1980 Montero was awarded the National Journalism prize for her articles and literary reports. In 2005, in recognition of her life-long career, she attained the Rodriguez Santamaria Award for Journalism.

SOURCE Santillana Publishing Co.

Alfaguara Novel Prize Celebrates Its XV Edition- Author Rosa Montero Will Be President of the Jury