Fox Sports en Español Renews Exclusive Rights to the Caribbean World Series...

Fox Sports en Español Renews Exclusive Rights to the Caribbean World Series for the U.S. Market

Coverage Kicks Off February 2 and Runs through February 7; Four-Team Round-Robin Features Champions from Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Venezuela and Mexico


Los Angeles, CA–(HISPANIC PR WIRE – BUSINESS WIRE)–January 31, 2007–Fox Sports en Español has once again acquired the exclusive U.S. Spanish-language television rights to the 58th Caribbean World Series of baseball. Taking place in Carolina, Puerto Rico, the four-team, six-day tournament will be televised for the ninth consecutive year on Fox Sports en Español, beginning Friday, February 2 at 3:00 p.m. ET/12:00 p.m. PT with a match-up between Venezuela and the Dominican Republic; Mexico takes on host Puerto Rico later that day at 7:30 p.m. ET/4:30 p.m. PT.

“We’re proud to be once again the only Spanish-language network in the U.S. to carry the Caribbean World Series and to offer our viewers an exclusive glimpse of their favorite big-league stars in action,” said David Sternberg, executive vice president and general manager of Fox Sports en Español.

The Caribbean World Series, first held in 1949 in Havana, Cuba, will be played this year at Roberto Clemente Walker Stadium in Carolina, Puerto Rico. The champions of the Dominican, Puerto Rican, Venezuelan and Mexican winter leagues will compete in an exciting 12-game round-robin series that will decide the new Caribbean champion.

In addition to the Caribbean World Series, Fox Sports en Español’s Spanish-language baseball programming in 2007 will include exclusive weekly coverage of Major League Baseball regular-season games, as well as the All-Star Game, American League Championship Series and World Series.

Schedule of Caribbean World Series on Fox Sports en Español(a)

Friday, February 2, 2007

Game 1

3:00 p.m. (ET)

Venezuela vs. Dominican Republic

Game 2

7:30 p.m. (ET)

Mexico vs. Puerto Rico

Saturday, February 3, 2007

Game 3

3:00 p.m. (ET)

Dominican Republic vs. Mexico

Game 4

7:00 p.m. (ET)

Puerto Rico vs. Venezuela

Sunday, February 4, 2007

Game 5

3:00 p.m. (ET)

Mexico vs. Venezuela

Game 6

7:00 p.m. (ET)

Puerto Rico vs. Dominican Republic

Monday, February 5, 2007

Game 7

3:00 p.m. (ET)

Dominican Republic vs. Venezuela

Game 8

7:00 p.m. (ET)

Puerto Rico vs. Mexico

Tuesday, February 6, 2007

Game 9

3:00 p.m. (ET)

Mexico vs. Dominican Republic

Game 10

7:00 p.m. (ET)

Venezuela vs. Puerto Rico

Wednesday, February 7, 2007

Game 11

3:00 p.m. (ET)

Venezuela vs. Mexico

Game 12

7:00 p.m. (ET)

Dominican Republic vs. Puerto Rico

(a) Home teams are listed last; schedule of games subject to change; not all games will air live.

For a complete schedule of Fox Sports en Español’s exclusive telecasts, please visit the network’s website at

About Fox Sports en Español

Fox Sports en Español features more than 1,500 hours of live, exclusive sports programming in Spanish and, with few exceptions, English SAP each year, including InterLiga(TM), the Copa Toyota Libertadores, Copa Nissan Sudamericana, CONCACAF Copa de Campeones, and the FIFA Club World Cup soccer tournaments; the Major League Baseball playoffs, All-Star Game and World Series; the Caribbean World Series; and premier combat sports including championship boxing from Mexico and the U.S, Ultimate Fighting Championship and kickboxing. The channel reaches 9 million cable and satellite households in the country, of which 4.5 million are U.S. Hispanic households.

Fox Sports en Español is distributed by Fox Cable Networks Group and operated by Fox Pan American Sports LLC, an international sports programming and production entity jointly owned by HM Capital Partners, LLC and News Corporation’s (NYSE:NWS) Fox Sports International. For more information, visit Fox Sports en Español online at

Fox Sports en Español Renews Exclusive Rights to the Caribbean World Series for the U.S. Market