2008 Benjamin Franklin Awards(TM)

2008 Benjamin Franklin Awards(TM)

Competition for Excellence in Publishing 2008 21st Annual Call for Entries


MANHATTAN BEACH, Calif., Aug. 5 /PRNewswire-HISPANIC PR WIRE/ — The Benjamin Franklin Awards(TM) (http://www.ibpa-online.org/custom/benfranklin/benfranklin.aspx) is an esteemed American book award regarded as one of the highest national honors in publishing, which includes fifty plus categories judged in excellence in both editorial and design. The first Benjamin Franklin Awards(TM) were awarded in 1987 and they are now given out each year at IBPA’s Publishing University prior to BookExpo America.


(Logo: http://www.newscom.com/cgi-bin/prnh/20080805/LATU028LOGO)

“We recognize that when people purchase a book they do not purchase it because a specific named publisher publishes it, they purchase it because it fulfills a need and is well designed and edited. As you can see by the wording of our awards, it is open to all.” — Jan Nathan, Executive Director, PMA 1983-2007

The award is administered by the Independent Book Publishers Association, IBPA, (formerly PMA) (http://www.ibpa-online.org/index.aspx) with the help of industry professionals coming from the library, bookstore, reviewer, designer, publicity and editorial markets. The Benjamin Franklin Awards(TM) program is the only one that allows you to receive direct comments from the people who will make the buying and/or review decisions on your product.

Several winners of more than one Benjamin Franklin Award include Lerner Publishing, Willow Creek Press, Feather Rock Books, Bethany House Publishers, Voyager Press, Carl R. Sams II Photography, Inc. (whose books have launched into a gallery of products, including film) Alaska Geographic Society, Jewish Learning Group, BBC Audio, Houghton Mifflin Company, and Boxing Day Books.

Recipients are recognized at a gala event the last night of Publishing University prior to BookExpo America, http://www.bookexpoamerica.com/. Winners will be displayed in a prominent location in the IBPA booth at BEA. Finalists will be featured on the IBPA website prior to the event and the winners and finalists remain on the IBPA website indefinitely.

First Call

Publish Dates January 1, 2008-June 30, 2008

Deadline: August 31, 2008

Second Call

Publish Dates July 1, 2008-December 31, 2008

Deadline: December 31, 2008

We will accept all titles that carry a 2008 copyright in the second call.

All publishers are invited to celebrate with us at the 2009 awards ceremony scheduled for Thursday, May 28, 2009 at the Roosevelt Hotel in NYC.

2008 Benjamin Franklin Awards(TM)