Mexican League ‘Torneo Apertura’ Returns Home to Fox Sports en Español for...

Mexican League ‘Torneo Apertura’ Returns Home to Fox Sports en Español for Third Year in a Row

Network's Exclusive and Live Coverage Kicks off With a Match Between Santos and Monterrey This Saturday, August 5, at 8 PM ET


SHARE THIS ARTICLE

Untitled Document

Los Angeles, CA–(HISPANIC
PR WIRE – BUSINESS WIRE)–August 4, 2006–Fox Sports en Español announced
today it will again offer exclusive live telecasts of some of the most exciting
matches from the new Mexican Soccer League season. Fox Sports en Español
acquired the exclusive U.S. broadcast rights to live Mexican Soccer League action
two years ago as part of a three-year deal with Mexican rights holder Telered
Mexicana. As part of the agreement, the Spanish-language sports cable network
will air at least 15 matches of the just-launched 2006 Torneo de Apertura. Live
and exclusive Spanish-language coverage kicks off this Saturday, August 5, with
a match between Santos and Monterrey at 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT.

“The Mexican League
continues to be by far the most popular soccer league among U.S. Latino sports
fans, and we are proud to bring them live and exclusive coverage for the third
year in a row,” said David Sternberg, executive vice president and general
manager of Fox Sports en Español. “With more hours of exclusive
live sports programming a year than any other Spanish-language network, we look
forward to continuing to be programmer of choice for U.S. Hispanic sports enthusiasts
and advertisers targeting the coveted and hard to reach 18-49 male demographic.”

The champions from the Mexican
League’s Torneo de Apertura 2005 (Toluca) and Torneo de Clausura 2005 (Club
America) will play sometime in 2006 to determine which team will advance as
the Mexican #1 seed to the prestigious 2007 Copa Toyota Libertadores. The other
team will be entered into the 2007 InterLiga(TM) tournament, where the top two
teams of the tournament will qualify for automatic berths into the 47th edition
of Copa Toyota Libertadores.

2006 Torneo de Apertura
– Partial Schedule on Fox Sports en Español(a)

           
DATE/TIME(a)                         
TEAMS

———————————————————————-
    AUGUST 5 @ 8 PM ET/5 PM PT           
SANTOS VS. MONTERREY
———————————————————————-
    AUGUST 12 @ 4 PM ET/1 PM PT         
QUERETARO VS. JAGUARES
———————————————————————-
    AUGUST 19 @ 6 PM ET/3 PM PT     VERACRUZ
VS. U.A. DE GUADALAJARA
———————————————————————-
    AUGUST 30 @ 10 PM ET/7 PM PT         
PACHUCA VS. QUERETARO
———————————————————————-
    AUGUST 31 @ 9 PM ET/ 6PM PT             
SANTOS VS. UNAM
———————————————————————-

(a) Schedule is subject
to change. Consult http://www.fse.tv for more information.

Offering more than 1,500
hours of live sports programming a year, Fox Sports en Español remains
the only Spanish-language network to offer exclusive coverage of the four major
international club tournaments from Latin America, encompassing more than 125
matches and in excess of 500 hours of live coverage of the most important matches
from InterLiga(TM), Copa Toyota Libertadores, CONCACAF Copa de Campeones, and
the Copa Nissan Sudamericana.

About Fox Sports en Español

Fox Sports en Español
features more than 1,500 hours of live, exclusive sports programming in Spanish
and, with few exceptions, English SAP each year, including the Copa Toyota Libertadores,
Copa Nissan Sudamericana, CONCACAF Copa de Campeones, InterLiga(TM) and the
FIFA Club World Cup soccer tournaments; the Major League Baseball playoffs,
All-Star Game and World Series; and Championship boxing from Mexico and the
U.S. The channel reaches more than 9 million cable and satellite households
in the country of which 4 million are U.S. Hispanic households.

Fox Sports en Español
is distributed by Fox Cable Networks Group and operated by Fox Pan American
Sports LLC, an international sports programming and production entity jointly
owned by Hicks, Muse, Tate & Furst and News Corporation’s (NYSE: NWS) Fox
Sports International. For more information, visit Fox Sports en Español
online at http://www.fse.tv.

Mexican League ‘Torneo Apertura’ Returns Home to Fox Sports en Español for Third Year in a Row