UNIVISION NETWORK…‘SWEEPING’ UP HISPANIC TV VIEWERS

UNIVISION NETWORK…‘SWEEPING’ UP HISPANIC TV VIEWERS



SHARE THIS ARTICLE

MIAMI, FL—(HISPANIC PR WIRE)–May 12, 2003–Univision, America’s most-watched Spanish-language TV network, has sensational programming in store for the remainder of May, geared to captivate Hispanic viewers during the current ‘sweeps’ period, when nationwide TV audience levels are measured. The network’s powerhouse lineup is guaranteed to sizzle with entertainment surprises and popular celebrity appearances.

After just celebrating its 6th anniversary, Univision’s top rated weekday daybreak program, ‘Despierta America’ (Wake Up America), changes its “casita” (home). The set’s modern design and different look will enhance the program’s new segments that promise great morning entertainment. Tons of surprises await Hispanic TV viewers as Fernando Arau, Ana Maria Canseco, Neida Sandoval, Giselle Blondet and Raul Gonzalez go on the road for the last two weeks of May before the big move. ‘Despierta America’ can be seen Monday through Friday from 7-10am ET/PT (6-9am Central and Mountain Time).

‘El Gordo y La Flaca’ (The Scoop and the Skinny), the best celebrity gossip reporting team on Spanish-language television, travels to the big apple to broadcast live from the Bronx, New York and West New York, New Jersey, this week. Today, special guest Julio Sabala will join co-hosts Raul ‘El Gordo’ de Molina and Lili ‘La Flaca’ Estefan. On Friday, Sisi, spokesmodel for ‘Sábado Gigante’ (Gigantic Saturday), will join ‘El Gordo’ in the infamous and bubbling Jacuzzi. ‘El Gordo y La Flaca’ can be seen Monday through Friday from 4-5pm ET/PT (3-4pm Central and Mountain Time).

The number one newsmagazine in the nation among Hispanic viewers, ‘Primer Impacto’ (First Impact), presents special reports, including two new series: ‘Marcadas Para Siempre’ (Scarred for Life), where senior reporter Mercedes Soler takes an in-depth look into the religious dilemmas parents face when their young daughters become pregnant as a result of being raped and abortion seems to be the only option in order to save their lives; and ‘¿En Nombre de Dios?’ (In the Name of God), where co-host Fernando del Rincon explores the profound religious beliefs that drive fundamentalists to commit violent acts of terrorism in the name of God. ‘Primer Impacto’ can be seen daily from 5-6 pm ET/PT (4-5 pm Central/Mountain).

‘Cristina’ gets up close and personal with Laura Zapata, better known as the sister of famous Mexican singer/actress, Thalia, wife of top music executive Tommy Mottola. Zapata will reveal shocking and never shared before information about her kidnapping last year in Mexico City. This primetime-hit talk show can be seen today at 10-11pm ET/PT (9-10pm Central/Mountain). ‘Cristina’ will also present its yearly 3-hour special, ‘El Gran Maraton de Cristina’ (Cristina’s Grand Marathon). This special, which highlights excerpts from the funniest, hottest and most incredible ‘Cristina’ shows, can be seen from 1-4pm ET/PT (12-3 pm Central/Mountain) on Monday, May 26.

–30–

CONTACT:

Univision

Cristina Romano

305 463-4608

UNIVISION NETWORK…‘SWEEPING’ UP HISPANIC TV VIEWERS