36 High Schoolers Vie to be the LLS 2018 Student of the...

36 High Schoolers Vie to be the LLS 2018 Student of the Year

Students are Available for Interviews per request


SAN JOSE, California, Feb. 8, 2018 /PRNewswire-HISPANIC PR WIRE/ — The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society (LLS) will announce the winners of the second annual Students of the Year campaign (SOY), on Saturday, February 24, 2018 at the Corinthian Grand Ballroom in San Jose, CA. This Grand Finale Gala will celebrate the accomplishments of the area’s young philanthropists committed to cancer cures.


LLS’s Students of the Year is an exciting leadership development and philanthropy program in which local high school students raise fund to invest in research to advance lifesaving treatments and cures for blood cancer patients. The Candidate Team who raise the most money at the end of the seven-week competition earns the title, “Student(s) of the Year” and receives a $1,000 scholarship to a college or university of their choice. This year, 21 Candidate Teams, comprised of 36 local high school students are in the running. 

Festivities begin at 6 p.m. Speakers include cancer survivor, Ethan Pope, age 10, who is in remission from Very High Risk Acute Lymphomblastic Leukemia, Sienna Pope, age 8, who was a 100% match to be Ethan’s bone marrow donor, and Kate Berardo, Head of Leadership Development at Facebook, who will illustrate the importance of the dollars raised for LLS in correspondence to leadership qualities in the workforce.

The evening will include a silent auction, plated dinner, awards, a reveal of the grand total raised by all Candidate Teams, and dancing. Tickets to the Grand Finale can be purchased here by selecting “Shop Our Store” and are $100/adult and $50/Ages 18 and under.

Media interested in covering the event should contact Pooja Trivedi at pooja.trivedi@lls.org.

To learn more about the event, donate, or to support the Candidate Teams, please visit: studentseries.org/SOY-SVMB

2018 Students of the Year Candidates

Silicon Valley & Monterey Bay Area Chapter

Visit the candidate’s fundraising pages here.

Team Beat It

Team ProCURE

Abigal Shamelashvili, Homestead High School

Nicole Gou, St. Francis High School

Elizabeth White, Homestead High School

Zainab Nasir, Lynbrook High School

Jacqueline Beaufore, Homestead High School

Team ProHealth

Team Cancer conCUREors

Rosheni Kandaswamy, Silver Creek High School

Alden Gu, Lynbrook High School


Team Can-cer Vive

Silpa Ajjarapu, Monta Vista High School

Christina Vo, Silver Creek High School

Meera Bambroo, Monta Vista High School

Team CUREblood

Team Thrive

Amy Kumar, University Preparatory Academy

Karan Singh Ratra, Moreau Catholic High School

Meghana Chintala, University Preparatory


Team Together for the Cure

Tanvir Sandhu, University Preparatory Academy

Amelia Gleixner, Notre Dame High School

Team CUREnation

Team Tumorators

Aditi Rao, Lynbrook High School

Ishani Malipatlolla, Notre Dame High School

Thishitha Vaikuntam, Lynbrook High School

Shruthi Shyam, Notre Dame High School

Team CUREosity

Team Vikings

Amy Zhang, Monta Vista High School

Vatsal Gupta, Irvington High School

Wenyu Chen, Monta Vista High School

Team Vitae

Team Cut Out Cancer

Aayushi Jani, Lynbrook High School

Anoushka Dave, University Preparatory

Lauren Ho, Lynbrook High School


Arnav Verma, University Preparatory Academy

Team “Wheel” Find a Cure

Emilie Erickson, Scotts Valley High School

Team Fight Strong

Kanika Khemka, Notre Dame High School

The Impacters

Sanya Shah, Presentation High School

Layla Yassin, Granada High School

Tatum Hayes, Granada High School

Team Lifeline

Aarya Gupta, Homestead High School

The Purifiers

Anoop Dhindsa, Notre Dame High School

Team Love Boat

Harleen Judge, Notre Dame High School

Jacob Isaacs, Los Gatos High School

Trevor Ross, Los Gatos High Schoola


Logo – https://mma.prnewswire.com/media/639724/Leukemia_and_Lymphoma_Society_Logo.jpg

SOURCE The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s (LLS) Silicon Valley & Monterey Bay Area Chapter

36 High Schoolers Vie to be the LLS 2018 Student of the Year