NHCSL Announces the 2016 John S. Martínez Scholarship Recipients

NHCSL Announces the 2016 John S. Martínez Scholarship Recipients


WASHINGTON, Oct. 4, 2016 /PRNewswire-HISPANIC PR WIRE/ — The National Hispanic Caucus of State Legislators (NHCSL) is proud to announce the 2016 John S. Martínez scholarship recipients. Each recipient will receive a $3,000 scholarship upon graduating high school and admittance into a college or university. These students will also receive the opportunity to meet with their local Hispanic legislator and be recognized within their communities for their achievements in educational excellence.

“As public servants, our highest duty is to create a better future for our constituents. I can think of no better way to do that than to ensure that the ladders of opportunity created by education are available to all our youth. The brilliant Latino students who are the recipients of this year’s John S. Martínez scholarship awards deserve those same opportunities as well. NHCSL is proud to invest in our future by opening the doors of opportunity to these outstanding individuals,” NHCSL President, Representative Ángel Cruz (PA), said.

NHCSL received a vast number of applications from various states, territories, and commonwealths throughout the nation. It was a privilege for NHCSL members to see so many Hispanic children not only excelling academically, but also giving back to their community, participating in school events, receiving academic awards, striving for success, and being leaders within their communities.

NHCSL’s collaboration with Comcast Foundation has made and continues to make the John S. Martinez scholarship possible. “At Comcast, we believe investing in young people is one of the best investments we can make in the future of our country, and we are proud to increase learning opportunities for the next generation of Latino leaders,” said Frank La Fontaine, Deputy Compliance Officer & Assistant General Counsel, Comcast Cable.

The 2016 John S. Martinez Scholarship recipients include: Sophia Sinesio Helfand (CA); Aracely Fuentes Vega (CO); Olivia Leyva (CO); Araceliz Gómes (CT); Austin Regalado (FL); Sydney Millerd (HI); Felix Juan Galarza III (NJ); Myrella González (NM); Gustavo Guevara (MD); Adrian J. Rivera (TX); Monserrat García-Porras (TX).

This November, students may begin to apply for the 2017 scholarships through NHCSL’s website, at: http://nhcsl.org/jsm-scholarship-program-2016.php.

NHCSL and all of its members are extremely proud of all of these students and the potential that they have already exhibited. With maintaining a focus on closing the achievement gap, Hispanic students can continue to develop into successful leaders of the future.

The NHCSL is the premier national association of Hispanic state legislators working to design and implement policies and procedures that will improve the quality of life for Hispanics throughout the country.  NHCSL was founded in 1989 as a nonpartisan, nonprofit 501(c)(3) organization with the mission to be the most effective voice for the more than 340 Hispanic legislators.  For more information visit www.nhcsl.org.

NHCSL Announces the 2016 John S. Martínez Scholarship Recipients